jump to navigation

Day 3 – Black Diamonds Here I Come (12/29/07) January 13, 2008

Posted by Q in Friends, Travel, Wharton.
trackback

Finally got to ski today!!

This time I got to the lessons place early. Turns out there were some Brits who were starting the lesson on the same day. It was nice to have some English-speakers to chat with during our sessions. The instructor spoke English and Italian (we had two Italians with us).

All day we were on a small hill doing straight snow plows (wedged skis). Its was kind of tough at first. But I got the hang of things pretty quickly. It was fun going down the little hill. The sun was out, the valley was beautiful, and i was with some cool people.

After our morning lesson I had lunch with the Brits (Mike and Jenny) and there friends. We went to the top of a mountain called Groste. The view was amazing. You could see straight across the valley to the peaks of the other side.

After lunch Jenny, Mike, and I went back to the small hill in the valley and practiced some more (sans instructor).

Later that evening, after a much need – and well deserved, might I add πŸ˜‰ – shower I meet back with my group for dinner. This dinner was amazing!

We were picked up from the hotel (we being the whole group if Italians, G, Kedar and I) in a cushy mini bus. We were then taken to Bach, a lodge on the mountain, by a set of snow cats (those are the big machines used to clear and smooth the slopes each night – they fit about 30 people in each). When we got up to the lodge we were served appetizers of meats, cheese, fried dough, and sparkling wine. After chit-chatting for a bit (me mostly with Kedar πŸ˜‰ ) we sat down to a 3 course meal. The food was great, as was the company. Giuseppe arranged Kedar and I between English speaking Italians. All of the festivities were in celebration of one of the Italians’ birthday. At middle night we sang Happy Birthday, had some cake and a couple more drinks and hopped in the snow cats back down the hill. It was a full evening and we were back at 1230!! The best part is all of that only cost €50!!!

On a related note, on the ski hill at night the stars are gorgeous! There is almost no light to obstruct their brilliance. Orion was full; you can even see the stars’ colors.

All told, an excellent day.

Comments»

1. Driver B - January 13, 2008

I’m proud of you for sticking with the skiing lessons. I tried skiing once and I got so mad and sore that I went back to the lodge. I’ll stick with sledding. ;p


Leave a Reply

